An official website of the United States government

Joint Statement on The COI on Israel
Delivered by Ambassador Michèle Taylor
June 20, 2023

The United States Joined the Following Joint Statement at the 53rd Session of the Human Rights Council

Joint Statement As Delivered by Ambassador Michèle Taylor

Interactive Dialogue with the Commission of Inquiry on the Occupied Palestinian Territory, Including East Jerusalem and in Israel

Human Rights Council – 53rd Session

Thank you, Madam Vice President.

I read this statement on behalf of a growing cross-regional group 27 countries, including the United States, that are deeply concerned about the open-ended Commission of Inquiry established following the escalation of violence in May 2021.

Resolution S-30/1 established a COI of open-ended mandate with no sunset clause, end date, or clear limitations connected to the escalation in May 2021. For this reason, many of the Council’s members at the time expressed fundamental concerns when resolution S-30/1 came up for adoption. 

To be clear, no one is above scrutiny and it is this Council’s responsibility to promote and protect human rights the world over. We must work to counter impunity and promote accountability on a basis of consistent and universally applied standards.

We believe the nature of this COI is further demonstration of long-standing, disproportionate attention given to Israel in the Council, and must stop.  

We continue to believe that this long-standing disproportionate scrutiny should end, and that the Council should address all human rights concerns, regardless of country, in an even-handed manner. Regrettably, we are concerned that the Commission of Inquiry will further contribute to the polarization of a situation about which so many of us are concerned. 

I thank you.

Countries Supporting:

  1. Albania
  2. Austria
  3. Bulgaria
  4. Cameroon
  5. Canada
  6. Croatia
  7. Czech
  8. Eswatini
  9. Fiji
  10. Guatemala
  11. Hungary
  12. Israel
  13. Italy
  14. Kenya
  15. Liberia
  16. Micronesia
  17. Nauru
  18. North Macedonia
  19. Palau
  20. Papua New Guinea
  21. Poland
  22. Marshall Islands
  23. Romania
  24. Slovakia
  25. Togo
  26. United Kingdom
  27. United States