An official website of the United States government

Joint Statement by the Group of Friends of Accountability Following the Aggression Against Ukraine
October 4, 2022

Joint Statement by the Group of Friends of Accountability Following the Aggression Against Ukraine

The United States Joined the Following Joint Statement at the 51st Session of the Human Rights Council

Delivered by H.E. Ambassador Erik Brøgger Rasmussen,
Permanent Representative of Denmark

Mr. President,

I am delivering this statement on behalf of the 46 member states of the Group of Friends of Accountability Following the Aggression against Ukraine.

We condemn in the strongest possible terms Russia’s illegal sham “referenda” in Ukraine and the announced illegal, attempted annexation of Donetsk, Kherson, Luhansk, and Zaporizhzhia regions of Ukraine. We urge the international community to condemn the attempted annexation and to join us in support of Ukraine’s independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognised borders. We reaffirm that any annexation of a State’s territory by another State resulting from the threat or use of force is a violation of the UN Charter and international law and without legal effect under international law.

Mr. President,

We are equally devastated by the discoveries of mass graves in the formerly Russian-controlled areas of Ukraine, recently in Izyum, and the increasing number of civilian casualties across the country. We remain deeply alarmed about the continuing and widespread reports of human rights abuses and violations and violations of international humanitarian law in Ukraine, including those stemming from Russia’s reported filtration policy.

This filtration policy is designed to intimidate and harass local populations, identify individuals whom Russia deems insufficiently compliant or opposed to its aggression and temporary control, suppress Ukrainian identity, and lay the groundwork for the continued “Russification” and attempted, illegal annexation of parts of a sovereign Ukraine.

The filtration operations are reported to include practices of torture of civilians and military forces, as well as the separation of families, including forced adoption of Ukrainian children, confiscation of Ukrainian passports, issuance of Russian passports, and surveillance.

Evidence is mounting that Russian authorities are also reportedly detaining or making disappear thousands of Ukrainian civilians during the filtration processes, with reports that some civilians have been summarily executed.

We call on Russia to immediately halt its pervasive filtration operations, arbitrary detentions, and forced deportations and disappearances and to promptly release those arbitrarily detained, and allow all citizens, particularly children to promptly and safely return home.

We recall obligations under international human rights law and international humanitarian law prohibiting torture and inhuman treatment of detainees and strongly condemn all reported cases of torture and ill-treatment.

We furthermore express deep concern about the grave effects of Russia’s war against Ukraine on global food and energy security, which particularly affects developing countries and persons in vulnerable situations.

Mr. President,

We reaffirm our full solidarity with Ukraine and its courageous people in their defence of their country and of the UN Charter. And we express our unwavering commitment to the independence, sovereignty and respect for the territorial integrity of Ukraine within its internationally recognised borders.

Thank you.


1. Albania

2. Australia

3. Austria

4. Belgium

5. Bosnia-Herzegovina

6. Bulgaria

7. Canada

8. Colombia

9. Croatia

10. Cyprus

11. Czechia

12. Denmark

13. Estonia

14. Finland

15. France

16. Georgia

17. Germany

18. Greece

19. Guatemala

20. Iceland

21. Ireland

22. Italy

23. Japan

24. Latvia

25. Liechtenstein

26. Lithuania

27. Luxembourg

28. Malta

29. Marshall Islands

30. Montenegro

31. Netherlands

32. New Zealand

33. North Macedonia

34. Norway

35. Poland

36. Portugal

37. Republic of Korea

38. Romania

39. Slovakia

40. Slovenia

41. Spain

42. Sweden

43. Switzerland

44. Ukraine

45. United Kingdom

46. United States