An official website of the United States government

Joint Statement by the Geneva Group of Friends to Eliminate Sexual Harassment
September 30, 2022

Joint Statement by the Geneva Group of Friends to Eliminate Sexual Harassment

Human Rights Council 51st Session

General Debate under Item 8

Follow-up to and implementation of the Vienna Declaration and Programme of Action

The United States Joined the Following Joint Statement at the 51st Session of the Human Rights Council

As Delivered by Ambassador Panayotis Stoutnaras, Greece

Thank you Mr. President.

I have the honor to deliver this Statement on behalf of the Geneva Group of Friends to Eliminate Sexual Harassment.

Sexual harassment is a widespread phenomenon, deeply rooted in gender inequality and power imbalances. It can have a negative impact on the physical, psychological and mental health of victims and survivors, create an unsafe work environment and lead to loss of dignity and self-esteem.

This Group of Friends is a state-led platform designed to spur discussions in different multilateral fora towards the elimination of sexual harassment as well as sexual exploitation and abuse.

Our goal is to support ongoing efforts by international organizations, agencies and programmes in Geneva, exchange good practices and map relevant gaps.. The Group is always open for additional members.

Here at the Human Rights Council, there is the Gender Focal Point, and the Council has a zero tolerance policy for harassment, adhering to the UN Code of Conduct. We celebrate the updates received in this regard, but it is important to recognize that fighting sexual harassment is not a one-person job. We all need to work together for its eradication.

Herewith we urge all UN member states to lead by example It is important, both in our capital headquarters and within our own Missions here in Geneva, to build inclusive and supportive workplaces where sexual harassment is not tolerated and apply policies both for its prevention and for the adequate protection of its victims and survivors.

Thank you.


1. Albania

2. Argentina

3. Australia

4. Austria

5. Brazil

6. Canada

7. Colombia

8. Costa Rica

9. Croatia

10. Cyprus

11. Ecuador

12. Estonia

13. Fiji

14. France

15. Gambia

16. Georgia

17. Germany

18. Greece

19. Guatemala

20. Ireland

21. Israel

22. Kenya

23. Latvia

24. Liechtenstein

25. Malta

26. Mexico

27. Monaco

28. Montenegro

29. Morocco

30. Netherlands

31. North Macedonia

32. Norway

33. Panama

34. Republic of Korea

35. Senegal

36. Spain

37. Sweden

38. Thailand

39. United Kingdom

40. United States

41. European Union