An official website of the United States government

Joint Statement on Responsibility to Protect
September 16, 2022

The United States joined the following Joint Statement at the 51st Session of the Human Rights Council

Joint Statement on the Responsibility to Protect

51st Session of UN Human Rights Council, Interactive Dialogue with the with the Special Rapporteur on the promotion of truth, justice, reparation and guarantees of non-recurrence

Delivered by H.E. Ambassador Shara Duncan Villalobos, Chargé d’Affaires a.i. of Costa Rica

September 16, 2022 – Geneva, Switzerland

Mr. President,

I have the honor to deliver this statement on behalf of the Group of Friends of R2P.

The Special Rapporteur’s mandate to contribute to accountability and prevent recurrence of atrocity crimes is intrinsically linked to the Responsibility to Protect.

We thank the Special Rapporteur for his report, which provides an important resource to better understand how private sector actors may facilitate systematic violations and abuses of human rights. A holistic assessment of such actors benefitting from repression is essential to address economic and political drivers of violence and inform better regulation of the private sector, if and where needed. Anyone complicit in the commission of atrocity crimes should be held accountable, as appropriate.

The Special Rapporteur’s analysis on the role of non-state armed groups in reparation, memorialization and truth-seeking processes also provides an important framework to better understand the role of various actors in contributing to accountability and redress for victims.

In this regard, we would like to ask the Special Rapporteur:

“How can the UN human rights system, including its mechanisms and procedures, strengthen measures to ensure that relevant actors adhere to their obligations under international law, and contribute to transitional justice processes?

Thank you.

*Cosponsored by: Luxembourg, Costa Rica, Botswana, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Liberia, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Tanzania, Bangladesh, Japan, Qatar, Marshall Islands, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Argentina, Chile, Guatemala, Peru, Mexico, Panama, Uruguay, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, United States