An official website of the United States government

Joint Statement in the Tigray Region of Ethiopia
September 13, 2021

Enhanced Interactive Dialogue on the High Commissioner’s Oral Update on the Situation of Human Rights in the Tigray Region of Ethiopia

Joint Statement Delivered by the Delegation of the United States of America

Human Rights Council – 48th Session 

September 13, 2021

As Delivered by Bob Riley, Acting Deputy Chief of Mission

Madame High Commissioner, this statement is delivered on behalf of 46 countries.

We underscore the importance of your joint investigation and call for the report to be released without delay.

We remain gravely concerned by ongoing violence in northern Ethiopia.  The Ethiopian government and regional authorities’ cutting off of Tigray – and the TPLF’s expansion of the conflict into neighboring regions – have caused a humanitarian catastrophe.

We are deeply concerned by numerous reports of Eritrean Defense Forces’ engagement in serious human rights abuses, and we call on them to withdraw immediately.

We are deeply concerned about the killing of civilians and humanitarian workers, as well as sexual and gender-based violence and attacks on Eritrean refugees and displaced persons in Ethiopia.

Those responsible for human rights violations and abuses and violations of international humanitarian law must be held accountable.

We call on all parties immediately to allow and facilitate safe, rapid, and unimpeded humanitarian access.

We also urge the Ethiopian government and TPLF to enter ceasefire negotiations without preconditions.

Will you brief the Council on the findings of the report once it is released?  Thank you.


  1. United States of America
  2. Albania
  3. Australia
  4. Austria
  5. Belgium
  6. Bulgaria
  7. Chile
  8. Costa Rica
  9. Croatia
  10. Cyprus
  11. Czech Republic
  12. Denmark
  13. Ecuador
  14. Estonia
  15. Finland
  16. France
  17. Germany
  18. Greece
  19. Hungary
  20. Iceland
  21. Ireland
  22. Italy
  23. Japan
  24. Latvia
  25. Liechtenstein
  26. Lithuania
  27. Luxembourg
  28. Malta
  29. Marshall Islands
  30. Mexico
  31. Montenegro
  32. Netherlands
  33. New Zealand
  34. North Macedonia
  35. Norway
  36. Poland
  37. Portugal
  38. Republic of Korea
  39. Romania
  40. Slovakia
  41. Slovenia
  42. Spain
  43. Sweden
  44. Switzerland
  45. Ukraine
  46. United Kingdom