An official website of the United States government

Joint statement on Democracy
June 22, 2021

Joint Statement at the Human Rights Council

Joint statement on Democracy

Joint Statement as delivered by Norway
on behalf of 64 countries including the United States 

Human Rights Council 47th Session.
Item 2 – ID on HC annual report

June 22, 2021

Thank you, Madam President,

It is clear from the UDHR, the human rights treaties, and other core UN documents that only democratic forms of governance are capable of providing an environment conducive to long-term peace and security, sustainable development, and the full enjoyment of human rights.

Yet today, many of the fundamental pillars of democracy are being openly challenged, including by States that are party to the aforementioned treaties.

In view of these challenges, we believe it is time for the world’s democracies to reaffirm their common conviction that the authority and legitimacy of government stems from the will of the people, as expressed through periodic and genuine elections, based on universal and equal suffrage and secret ballot; that all citizens have the right to take part in the government of their country, by standing for election or by freely voting for their chosen representatives; and, that everyone has the right to freedom of opinion, expression, peaceful assembly, and association; that everyone is entitled to a fair and public hearing by a competent, independent and impartial tribunal; and that everyone is entitled to all human rights – civil and political, economic, social and cultural – without distinction.

The United Nations, including this Council and its mechanisms, has a critical role to play in promoting, defending and reinvigorating democracy, to help deliver on the hopes and aspirations of the people the UN ultimately serves.

Thank you.

  1. Andorra
  2. Armenia
  3. Australia
  4. Austria
  5. Belgium
  6. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  7. Brazil
  8. Bulgaria
  9. Canada
  10. Cape Verde (Cabo Verde)
  11. Colombia
  12. Costa Rica
  13. Croatia
  14. Cyprus
  15. Czech Republic
  16. Denmark
  17. Ecuador
  18. Estonia
  19. Fiji
  20. Finland
  21. France
  22. Georgia
  23. Germany
  24. Greece
  25. Guatemala
  26. Hungary
  27. Honduras
  28. Iceland
  29. India
  30. Ireland
  31. Israel
  32. Italia
  33. Japan
  34. Latvia
  35. Liechtenstein
  36. Lithuania
  37. Luxembourg
  38. Malawi
  39. Malta
  40. Marshall Islands
  41. Monaco
  42. Montenegro
  43. Netherlands
  44. New Zealand
  45. North Macedonia
  46. Norway
  47. Panama
  48. Portugal
  49. Republic of Korea
  50. Republic of Poland
  51. Romania
  52. Senegal
  53. Sierra Leone
  54. Slovakia
  55. Slovenia
  56. Spain
  57. Sweden
  58. Switzerland
  59. Tunisia
  60. Turkey
  61. Ukraine
  62. United Kingdom
  63. United States of America
  64. Vanuatu