An official website of the United States government

U.S. Security Council Presidency
September 5, 2018

security council

The UN Security Council was established by the UN Charter, and its primary responsibility is to work to maintain international peace and security. There are 193 members of the United Nations, and 15 members of the UN Security Council: the five permanent members (China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States) and 10 non-permanent members elected to two-year terms. For the month of September, the United States is serving as President of the Security Council, a position that rotates every month among the 15 Council members. For more, please visit the homepage of the U.S. Mission to the United Nations in New York.