Live Webcast: Universal Periodic Review Town Hall in Geneva on Nov 5, 2010

SMDOSThe United States will make its presentation at the Human Rights Council in Geneva on Friday November 5, 2010. Participation in the official session is limited to governments. However, on the afternoon of November 5, the U.S. Government will hold a Town Hall at the UN Palais in Geneva that will be open to civil society organizations. This event will enable activists and nongovernmental groups to question and engage on the U.S.’s human rights record. The U.S. Department of State will broadcast this Town Hall live, and we encourage you to participate in this groundbreaking webcast.

Guest Speakers: Assistant Secretary Esther Brimmer, Harold Hongju Koh, and Assistant Secretary Michael H. Posner

Dr. Esther Brimmer is the Assistant Secretary of State for International Organizations. Dr. Brimmer leads the Bureau of International Organization Affairs, which strives to advance U.S. interests through international organizations in areas including human rights, peacekeeping, food security, humanitarian relief, and climate change.

Harold Honju Koh is the U.S. Department of State’s Legal Advisor and one of the country’s leading experts on public and private international law, national security law, and human rights.

Michael H. Posner serves as the U.S. Assistant Secretary of State for the Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor.

Format: This will be a video webcast in English.

Instructions: Visit https://statedept.connectsolutions.com/humanrights on Friday, November 5 at 10:30 am EDT (14:30 GMT/15:30 Geneva). “Enter as a visitor” by simply typing in your name and selecting “Enter Room”.

To submit your questions in advance, simply post your question below, or in our chat room at https://statedept.connectsolutions.com/humanrights.

print  Print